It’s All About K-Beauty/Skin Care

Since I leave for Seoul, South Korea on Tuesday, July 4th, I thought now would be the perfect time to do this video. South Korea is the place that a lot of the beauty and skin care trends start in Asia. Especially with the explosion of Korean pop known as K-pop and dramas. It’s called the Hallyu wave.

The best way for me to describe their philosophy when it comes to skin care, I will defer to Armata. This company is one of the most famous luxury beauty and skin care brands in South Korea.

The key to understanding Korean skin care philosophy is to understand the legacy behind it. Koreans have among the longest documented historical civilized legacies in the world, dating back to 8000 BC. Skin care interest is recorded in its earliest writings and the Donguibogam, an ancient medicinal text, has an entire section (the Tangaekpyeon) on preparation and use of herbal ingredients including many for skin concerns. As a result, Korean culture reflects a deep passion for prolonging skin’s health and beauty, and this legacy has positioned it at the forefront of skin care technology.

You can find many of these brands on Amazon and Glow Recipe.

Blossom Jeju: Now I know I said from the neck down I have it covered but this company has to be included. All their products are made from the face with Camellia seed oil. Pink Camellia Soombi Blooming Vitamin Sleeping Mask $52 and Camellia Soombi Enriched Cleansing Oil $19 are skin care heaven. The company is based in Jeju and island off the mainland of South Korea.

Nature’s Republic: is a natural brand that finds and shares the energy of life from the pristine nature around the world. Their Bamboo Charcoal Face Mask $8.90 and the entire line of aloe vera gel products from the body wash to the lotion is one of the best out their. It’ s a must try.

The Face Shop: Another company that runs neck and neck with Etude House as the cosmetic and skin care brand. (Etude House I like their face products but not a big fan of its bath and body collection. Go and ahead and check them out. Decide for yourself just for me it’s not my cup of tea). Face Shop has wonderful products for the face but their lotions and body oils don’t get enough attention until now. Calendula Essential Moisture Emulsion (body lotion) goes for $19.  The Baby Leaf Green Tea Waterful Emulsion $17 is a winner.

Honorable Mentions:

TonyMoly: I’ve only tried the face masks and I like them. One of my friends purchased 10 face masks for me to try. I have 2 left. She loves their products and gives nothing but high praise. I haven’t used anything but the face masks but when I go to Seoul I will be giving their skin care and bath and body products a try.

Glow Recipe: I went to KCON (Korea Conference) in 2015 here in Los Angeles, I met one of the founder’s Christen Chang. She was speaking at a beauty summit during the convention. She’s a very nice person and gave me the encouragement to seriously consider opening my business to make custom bath and body.  This online store features k-beauty natural skin care and bath and body products.

Leave a Reply

